top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAnna Crouse

First Draft

Blogging.


What is it. How is it helpful. Why are there so many. What am I even going to talk about.


Questions I've thought about a lot since my brother posed the questions of me starting a blog a few years ago. Me starting this doesn't mean I've answered them, but I think I realized they don't matter as much as I thought.


I'm writing this, and I hope I'll just post it when I feel like I've said what I need to say (which I'm not sure what that even is), and let that be that. I don't plan on posting everywhere that I've started a blog, so if you find this then congrats! You've reached probably a very underwhelming pot of gold at the end of the rainbow.


But that's also the thing - my "blog" doesn't have to be the best thing you've read. Just as I've started to value journaling over the past few months, I hope this can be yet another outlet to process, see and understand what the Holy Spirit has done in my life, and then get to share it. It doesn't have to be perfect, because guess what, I'm not perfect, my walk with Christ hasn't been perfect, so I think I would be doing people a disservice by curating a perfect blog while I'm living an imperfect life and an imperfect world.


I guess, as my first post, I could introduce what this website is, what it means to me, and what I hope you can find here. First, I wanted a place I could dump all of my art. All of the things I create, in all of it's variety, all in one place. God has been way too gracious to me in giving me the passion to create, and the ability to follow through with that passion. In the past year and a half, I have learned more than I ever thought I would (and could) about art and how it is so closely intertwined with our Creater, our God, our Savior, and my faith as a whole. (Hey, I might do another post about all of that! This thing might be coming along after all). I think what it can boil down to, though, is that our God is the most magnificent artist and creator in the history of our universe, and so why would art not be important? Why would art not be important to the God that tells the sun to rise and in doing so, painting the sky and clouds colors that only our eyes can truly make out in all of their splendor. Why would art not be important to the God that spoke poems, songs, hymns and laments that were penned by King David. Why would art not be important to the God that created us - humans - with bodies that are far more complex than any other creature on this earth.


Basically, I hope what you see here is a small reflection of that, of my Creator.


I also long to use my gifts to serve those around me. Through capturing and creating, I want to come alongside you as you seek a family photo that freezes a moment in time. Through creating a logo that helps you further your own business. Through mailing a print that will remind you of God's goodness and grace every time you look at it.


All of these things I want to do for you, and with you - experiencing this art together and may it hopefully raise both of our eyes up to God, the only One that is worth doing all of this for.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page